About Us

Faculty of Applied Social Sciences

HSRM offers over 70 degree programs at five faculties:

All degree programs

About us

The faculty of Applied Social Sciences of the RheinMain University was founded in the winter semester of 1974/75 at the Kurt-Schumacher-Ring Campus in Wiesbaden.

We offer a differentiated and attractive study program for Social Work that meets the heterogenity of our students. Three fulltime B.A. undergraduate courses are complemented by two Blended Learning courses and two extra-occupational Master courses. Networking and practical cooperation, research and research promotion as well as internationality have a high priority at the Faculty of Applied Social Sciences.

The contents of our courses are continuously adapted to social developments and challenges of a professional approach in Social Work, whilst remaining aware of the political and social mandate of Social Work.

For its 1800 students, the faculty employs 26 full-time teaching professors, 3 honorary professors, 7 full-time teaching staff for special tasks, 13 research associates, 17 technical and administrative staff and 68 lecturers (as of winter semester 2017/2018).

At the beginning of 2017, the Hessen State Ministry for Higher Education, Research and the Arts granted the Research Academy (founded in cooperation with Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences and Fulda University, headquartered at the RheinMain University) the right to award doctorates in the discipline of Social Work.

Due to its research strength, the faculty's research focus "Professionalism of Social Work" has been included in the map of the German Rectors' Conference (HRK). Four profile lines were differentiated in which six research associates, who are currently earning a doctorate in the Research Academy, are active. A cooperative PhD course is linked with the faculty of Educational Sciences of the Goethe University Frankfurt, by means of the research area "Raum - Alltag - Proktionsweisen des Sozialen (RAPS)". In both research areas, large external funding projects have been acquired. The research institute "Forschungsinstitut RheinMain für Soziale Arbeit (FoRM)" combines the faculty's research activities.


The Faculty of Social Work is located at the Campus Kurt-Schumacher-Ring in Wiesbaden.

Campus map: Kurt-Schumacher-Ring

For information regarding public transport, please refer to:



Information about our call-a-bike stations on campus


Campus map in Wiesbaden

Arrival via Kurt-Schumacher-Ring


Hochschule RheinMain / RheinMain University
Fachbereich Sozialwesen / Faculty of Applied Social Sciences

Visiting address:
Kurt-Schumacher-Ring 18
65197 Wiesbaden

Postal address:
Hochschule RheinMain
Fachbereich Sozialwesen
Postfach 3251
65022 Wiesbaden

Telephone: +49 (0)611 9495 1301
Fax: +49 (0)611 9495 1303
E-Mail: dekanat-sw(at)remove-this.hs-rm.de