Logo Fachbereich Architektur und Bauingenieurwesen


Faculty - Departments - Programs

The Faculty of Architecture and Civil Engineering can look back at a history of over a century that reaches back to the foundation of the Royal College for Civil and Mechanical Engineering in 1869. This type of civil engineering colleges is specific to architectural training in Germany and allows construction craftsmen to enter an educational track towards construction engineer or master builder, besides the academic programs in architecture at technical universities or art schools.

At the end of the sixties, like other regional civil engineering and applied arts or arts and crafts schools, the Idstein civil engineering college too was integrated into a larger institution of higher education and became part of the Wiesbaden University of Applied Sciences in 1971, today's RheinMain University of Applied Sciences. The Faculty of Architecture, which has become today's Department of Architecture, conceives of its work within the continuing tradition of the training college founded in Idstein, whose most eminent disciple is the Wiesbaden architect and city master builder Johann Wilhelm Lehr (1893-1971).

In 1993 the Faculty of Architecture left its home in the historicist building of 1893 and moved into a new complex with integrated laboratories at the university's main campus in Wiesbaden.

On September 1, 2005 the Faculties of Architecture and Civil Engineering were merged into one.

Academic-Artistic Environment

RheinMain University of Applied Sciences conceives of itself as a partner in the region who contributes to shaping the university's social and economic development. In the context of the university of applied sciences' strategic planning, the number of originally 14 faculties was reduced to now six:

  • Faculty of Architecture and Civil Engineering
  • Faculty of Design – Computer Science – Media
  • Geisenheim Faculty of Viticulture, Oenology, Horticulture, Beverage Engineering and Landscape Architecture
  • Faculty of Engineering (in Rüsselsheim)
  • Faculty of Applied Social Sciences
  • Wiesbaden Business School

As part of the strategic development measures, the two faculties of architecture and of civil engineering, which were already housed under one roof in Wiesbaden, were merged into one and now constitute departments within the new faculty. At the moment, the Faculty of Architecture and Civil Engineering offers the following degree programs:

  • Bachelor's Program in Architecture (B.A.)
  • Bachelor's Program in Civil Engineering (B.Eng.)
  • Bachelor's Program in Applied Mathematics (B.Sc.)
  • Environmental Management and Urban Planning in Metropolitan Areas (M.Eng.)
  • Master's Program in Civil Engineering and Construction Management (M.Eng.)
  • Architecture, Building Revitalization and Transformation (M.A.) – begins in winter semester 2011/12


Hochschule RheinMain
University of Applied Sciences
Faculty of Architecture and Civil Engineering
Kurt-Schumacher-Ring 18
65197 Wiesbaden


Department of Architecture
Phone: +49 (0)611 9495-1401
Fax: +49 (0)611 9495-1422


Department of Civil Engineering
Phone: +49 (0)611 9495-1451
Fax: +49 (0)611 9495-1422



das FABrikat